Equality in the Cancer World

In UWRT my group’s focus was “How can we make more people aware of the larger conversation around unknown forms of cancer and bring additional funding for research to the less commonly known forms of cancer”? This topic emerged from a classmate whose mother had Adult Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma. I read about this cancer on http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/adult-non-hodgkins/Patient/page2#_179&gt. Having a family member with cancer is tough to deal with, because ultimately they can die. I have members in my family that also have been diagnosed with cancer, so her inquiry question sparked my interest. I think others that have a love one who suffers from cancer would be interested in my group’s inquiry.

In the midst of my inquiring I found that I have an issue with the fact that breast cancer gets so much more attention then others and I find it unfair. As I realized that I wanted to know why breast cancer gets so much attention I googled. http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/detailedguide/breast-cancer-key-statistics was able to give mesome facts. So I put myself in the shoes of those that may support “larger cancers” like breast cancer. I’m sure that people will argue that breast cancer gets so much attention because it’s the number 2 cause of death in women, and the most common cancer among American women.

I understand that people would think that more common cancers should be put on the front end. I know people would feel that cures for the more common and larger cancers are more important due to their position on the “leading cause of death scale”.I’m sure people are going to question what is a “little vs big cancer or a smaller vs larger cancer”. The idea of little and big cancers came from a blog https://kdemeny1.wordpress.com/2015/01/28/the-little-ones/.

All cancers can lead to death so personally I feel they should all receive the same amount of attention, they should all be marketed the same if at all, they should all receive equal funding. I think the marketing behind breast cancer is ridiculous. I stumbled on a post http://thinkbeforeyoupink.org/2014/11/top-5-highlights-from-think-before-you-pink-2014/. Evidence from a “think before you pink campaign” can help support that breast cancer awareness is too publicized. I feel like the whole Pink ribbon thing is blown out of proportion. The post outlined the fact that some companies are taking advantage of the pink ribbon concept and using for their own personal benefit. Initially I thought If these campaigns and mechanizing around breast cancer are helpful when it comes to awareness and funding then why cant other cancers use similar methods.

Before this form of inquiry was presented I’m afraid to say that I had never really paid attention to what form of cancer got more media attention. I did know the obvious that cancer is a huge issue. I know that there is ultimately no cure and that all cancer patients can do is undergo chemotherapy, which can be either a negative or positive experience. Personally I think that if we brought more awareness to the smaller ones maybe there will be more funding toward finding a cure for them. Sometimes you have to start small and then work your way up to more complicated issues. Working toward smaller cancers can be the foundation to being able to cure larger ones. After I did some searches online I realized that there are some organizations that do refer to all types of cancer and not just the largely publicized ones like breast cancer.

Due to my findings on http://www.choosehope.com/calendar-of-cancer-awareness-months I learned that each cancer has a month for awareness. I went on and had to just research some small cancers to find out about people that speaking out about each cancer. Internet searches lead me to personal video testimonials, articles and blogs on cancers. People suffering from cancer and their family and friends are the ones that speak out on the behalf of little ones. Through raising awareness education on symptoms and treatment can be learned. Supporters hope that greater knowledge will lead to earlier detection of cancer, which is associated with higher long-term survival rates, and that money rose for cancer will produce a reliable, permanent cure. I don’t feel that smaller cancers should take the place of larger ones in awareness. This made me question why can’t there be “equality” in the cancer world?

I can further apply the methods from the text to my questions “What knowledge can we gain through awareness of the “little ones” to reduce these cancer risks? Who is currently speaking out for the “little ones”? Both were something I never really thought about before, but I have them in mind now. While still exploring some research about them I know that I have to elaborate on what may help my 2 questions to evolve.

Links to what helped with my research…

http://www.cancer.org/cancer/breastcancer/detailedguide/breast-cancer-key-statistics

http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/adult-non-hodgkins/Patient/page2#_179&gt

http://thinkbeforeyoupink.org/2014/11/top-5-highlights-from-think-before-you-pink-2014/

http://www.cancertrialshelp.org/Icare_content/icMainContent.aspx?intAppMode=25

http://www.healthline.com/health-slideshow/best-cancer-blogs

http://www.choosehope.com/calendar-of-cancer-awareness-months

Leave a Reply

